Avidyne Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Avidyne General > IFD 5 Series & IFD 4 Series Touch Screen GPS/NAV/COM
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Turn Off Traffic

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote DavidBunin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Turn Off Traffic
    Posted: 06 Mar 2016 at 7:56pm
I recently conducted a "flight of two"with a friend.  Both of us are ADS-B equipped.  Due to our proximity, I was constantly being presented with traffic alerts.

I know that, as an avionics technician, I could "disconnect" the traffic before flight by turning off the ARINC 429 input port in Maintenance Mode.  But my question is if there is a way for a regular pilot to turn off the traffic features (while in normal operating mode) for one flight?

David Bunin

Bad1996 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Bad1996 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Mar 2016 at 9:15pm
I don't think so in regular mode, pretty easy to put it in maintenance mode to turn it off. Even in the air.
AzAv8r View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote AzAv8r Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Mar 2016 at 9:47pm
Sounds like what is really appropriate is a means to ignore certain targets.  Like those you are flying in formation with...
Gring View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Gring Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Mar 2016 at 7:12am
Originally posted by DavidBunin DavidBunin wrote:

I recently conducted a "flight of two"with a friend.  Both of us are ADS-B equipped.  Due to our proximity, I was constantly being presented with traffic alerts.