Avidyne Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Avidyne General > IFD 5 Series & IFD 4 Series Touch Screen GPS/NAV/COM
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Marketing Ideas

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Groupie
Groupie

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote dubs Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Marketing Ideas
    Posted: 24 Apr 2016 at 10:50am
I am new to Avidyne products, so excuse me if this issue has been previously addressed. Last week, I had an IFD440, MLB100 and AXP340 installed by Autopilots Central in Tulsa, OK. Autopilots Central is a pretty large Avionics Dealer. They almost always have a 8 to 10 planes in their large hangar getting major avionics work done, rotating every few weeks. Yet, they were nearly unaware of the Avidyne Products. I think mine might have been their first IFD installation. They were all awed by the Avweb SNF video I showed them demonstrating the soon to be released IFD100 software.

Since I began lurking on this forum a few months ago, I have been impressed by how Avidyne acknowledges the combined wisdom of their customers by monitoring the feedback offered on this forum, and incorporating good ideas into future releases. Avidyne's demonstrated commitment to continuous product improvement was one of the reasons I went for A over G. 

But, I have not seen any attempt by Avidyne to seek their customers help in marketing their superior products. It is not enough to build a better product. If you simply build it, they will not come. Pilots and their purchasing advisors (avionics dealers). What's more, the entities with the money to complete major avionics upgrades, Businesses with planes, rely heavily on the advise of their local avionics shops.